A Brief Introduction to Flow Cytometry

owner image
Owner:
iBiology
Thursday, January 1, 1970 | 12am EST (US and Canada) / 1pm CST (China) / 6am BST (UK) Med. 30-60 min | English
Keywords:

Webinar Details

Dr. Malte Paulsen gives an introduction to flow cytometry with an excellent explanation of the basic principles governing the technique. He explains how fluid flow is used to focus a sample in a laser beam. Light from the laser is scattered by cells in the sample and the degree of scatter provides information about the cell’s optical density and other characteristics. In conventional flow cytometry, lasers are used primarily to excite fluorescent antibodies bound to specific cell types.  A detector with different filters allows specific wavelengths to be dissected from the overall fluorescence. This signal can then be displayed in ways that provide the most information about the cell type of interest.

More Information

Webinar Type: Recorded

Speakers

Malte Paulsen
Malte Paulsen
Dr. Malte Paulsen has been Head of the Flow Cytometry Core Facility at EMBL since 2015. Prior to joining EMBL, Paulsen was Head of the flow cytometry facilities first at Institute for Molecular Biology (IMB) in Mainz, and later at the National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College, London. Paulsen received his PhD from the German Cancer Research Center and the University of Heidelberg in 2011.

Related Webinars