A daily period of unproductivity: Can we solve the mystery of sleep?

owner image
Owner:
National Institutes of Health
Wednesday, April 6, 2016 | 3pm EDT (US and Canada) / April 7, 3am CST (China) / 8pm BST (UK) Med. 30-60 min | English
Keywords:

Webinar Details

The focus of Dr. Sehgal’s lecture will be on the mechanisms that drive the timing of and the need to sleep. The 24-hour rhythm of sleep is driven by a circadian clock, while the need to sleep comes from a homeostatic system, which ensures adequate sleep levels. The lecture will show how the use of Drosophila has led to the identification of molecular mechanisms and circuits that underlie the circadian timing of behavior. The lecture will also address the function of sleep and describe efforts to elucidate the genetic basis of sleep homeostasis.

More Information

Webinar Type: Recorded

Speakers

Related Webinars