Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa (Johns Hopkins) Part 1: Brain Tumors

owner image
Owner:
iBiology
Monday, July 25, 2011 | 3pm EDT (US and Canada) / July 26, 3am CST (China) / 8pm BST (UK) Med. 30-60 min | English
Keywords:

Webinar Details

In part 1, Quiñones-Hinojosa discusses the history of brain tumors, different types of tumors (non-cancerous vs cancerous) and what this means for treatment and prognosis. He then focuses on a specific type of tumor, glioblastoma multiforme, and outlines what oncologists and surgeons have learned about this cancer over the past 30 years and how this information has influenced treatment. He closes with a brief overview of what is known about brain tumor stem cells.

More Information

Webinar Type: Recorded

Speakers

Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa
Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa
Dr. Quiñones-Hinojosa, affectionately known as Dr. Q, is an Associate Professor of Neurosurgery and Oncology, Neuroscience and Cellular and Molecular Medicine at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He is also director of the Brain Tumor Surgery Program and the Brain Tumor Stem Cell Laboratory where he investigates the role of brain stem cells in causing, and potentially curing, cancer. Dr. Q received his undergraduate degree from UC Berkeley and his M.D. from Harvard, and he completed his post-doctoral training at UC San Francisco. Despite this prestigious educational pedigree, things were not always easy for Quiñones-Hinojosa. His family was poor and, as a teenager, he left his home in Mexico and became an migrant farm worker in California. Self-determination and support from family, friends and mentors helped him attain his current position.

Related Webinars