H7N9 Influenza Virus: An Explanation of its Pandemic Potential

owner image
Owner:
Center for Public Health Workforce Development, Rutgers School of Public Health
Wednesday, December 13, 2017 | 1pm EST (US and Canada) / December 14, 2am CST (China) / 6pm GMT (UK) Med. 30-60 min | English

Webinar Details

This webinar gives an overview of the biology, transmission, and pathogenicity of influenza viruses, focusing on the difference between highly-pathogenic and minimally-pathogenic avian strains. The speaker addresses current concerns regarding the H7N9 strain, identified as the cause of over 1,500 cases of influenza.

Points covered include:

  • assessing viral characteristics to estimate their pandemic potential
  • evaluating the current impact and potential risks of H7N9
  • proposing mechanisms for worker protection and exposure prevention

More Information

Webinar Type: Recorded

Speakers

Jessica McCormick-Ell, PhD
Jessica McCormick-Ell, PhD
Jessica McCormick-Ell is a biosafety officer at Rutgers University.

Related Webinars