Invasive NTM Infections and Heater-Cooler Units

owner image
Owner:
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Monday, August 29, 2016 | 1pm EDT (US and Canada) / August 30, 1am CST (China) / 6pm BST (UK) 60 min | English

Webinar Details

Abbigail Tumpey, Associate Director for Communications Science at the CDC, leads a panel of experts in this webinar as part of a series on infection control and prevention.

Non-Tuberculous Mycobacterium (NTM) is a category of mycobacteria that do not cause tuberculosis, but can cause similar infections when human defenses are weakened. This webinar introduces gives an overview of a possible link between cardiac patients’ exposure to heater-cooler units during surgery, and their subsequent development of invasive Non-Tuberculous Mycobacterium (NTM) infections.

  • Points covered include:
  • Clinical manifestation of invasive NTM infections.
  • Diagnostic and treatment strategies.
  • Practices that can put patients at risk of healthcare-associated infections, particularly NTM.
  • Steps to identify patients at risk.
  • Best practices to mitigate risk to patients.

May be eligible for continuing education credits.

Slides are available for download.

More Information

Webinar Type: Recorded

Speakers

Joseph Perz, DrPH, MA
Joseph Perz, DrPH, MA
Joseph Perz is a Team Leader for Quality Standards and Safety at the CDC.
Charles L. Daley, MD
Charles L. Daley, MD
Charles L. Daley is Chief of the Division of Mycobacterial and Respiratory Infections at National Jewish Health, a leading respiratory hospital.
Daniel J. Diekema, MD
Daniel J. Diekema, MD
Daniel J. Diekema is Director of the Division of Infections Diseases at the University of Iowa's Carver College of Medicine.
Keith B. Allen, MD
Keith B. Allen, MD
Keith B. Allen is Director of Research at Mid America Heart and Lung Surgeons.
Michael Bell, MD
Michael Bell, MD
Michael Bell is Deputy Director of the CDC's Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion.

Related Webinars