Richard Losick (Harvard) Part 1: Spore Formation in Bacillus Subtilis

owner image
Owner:
iBiology
Thursday, April 24, 2008 | 3pm EDT (US and Canada) / April 25, 3am CST (China) / 8pm BST (UK) Short < 30 min | English
Keywords: ,

Webinar Details

How do simple cells differentiate, assemble into communities, and cope with change? Losick’s seminar addresses these questions in the spore-forming bacterium Bacillus subtilis. Part I is an overview of how B. subtilis makes a spore.

More Information

Webinar Type: Recorded

Speakers

Richard Losick
Richard Losick
Richard Losick is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor, the Maria Moors Cabot Professor of Biology, and a Harvard College Professor. He received his B.A. from Princeton University in 1965 and his Ph.D. from MIT in 1969. He was elected to the Harvard Society of Fellows as a Junior Fellow in 1969, and he joined the faculty of Harvard University in 1972. He is a past chairman of the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology and the Department of Cellular and Developmental Biology. He teaches the introductory course on molecular biology at Harvard College, and is Head Tutor for the undergraduate concentration in Biochemical Sciences. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, and a former Visiting Scholar of the Phi Beta Kappa Society. He is the 2007 winner of the Selman A. Waksman Award of the National Academy of Sciences.

Related Webinars