Special Webinar on Lyme Disease Persistence

owner image
Owner:
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Thursday, May 22, 2014 | 1pm EDT (US and Canada) / May 23, 1am CST (China) / 6pm BST (UK) Long > 60 min | English

Webinar Details

This joint webinar on possible causes of persistent symptoms of Lyme disease after treatment covers:

  • the life cycle of B. burgdorferi in animal hosts, and opportunities for persistence;
  • design considerations in creating studies to assess B. burgdorferi persistence;
  • results of a study on macaques, showing B. burgdorferi persistence in non-human primates;
  • results of a study using ticks for xenodiagnosis of infection from humans;
  • an overview of the scientific consensus and controversy.

More Information

Webinar Type: Recorded

Speakers

Stephen W. Barthold, DVM, PhD
Stephen W. Barthold, DVM, PhD
Dr. Stephen Barthold is a Professor Emeritus of UC-Davis.
Linda K. Bockenstedt, MD
Linda K. Bockenstedt, MD
Linda Bockenstedt is a Professor of Medicine at Yale University.
Monica E. Embers, PhD
Monica E. Embers, PhD
Dr. Monica Embers works in the Division of Bacteriology & Parasitology at Tulane National Primate Research Center.
Adriana Marques, MD,
Adriana Marques, MD,
Dr. Adriana Marques is chief of the Lyme Disease Studies Unit in the Laboratory of Clinical Immunology & Microbiology at NIAID.
Dr. Linden Hu
Dr. Linden Hu
Linden Hu is Vice Dean for Research at Tufts University School of Medicine.

Sponsors

Related Webinars