“The Next Thalidomide”

owner image
Owner:
Scientific Liaison Coalition
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 | 11am EST (US and Canada) / December 21, 12am CST (China) / 4pm GMT (UK) Long > 60 min | English

Webinar Details

When developmental toxicologists focus on preventing disease by preventing harmful exposures, they sometimes talk about “preventing the next thalidomide.”

Of course, multiple thalidomide-level events have already occurred.  Dr. Scialli reviews these episodes and analyzes how the failures occurred. Failure paths range from warnings that went un-noticed by clinicians and patients, to experimental observation periods that excluded the sensitive period in human development; to conflict between clinical need and lack of a critical epidemiological mass of causation data.

Traditional experimental protocols rely on laboratory animal response to predict human response, but in high-enough dose levels, any chemical can be teratogenic. Dr. Scialli calls for alternative test strategies and better characterization of mechanisms of abnormal development to make experimental protocols more usefully predictive of human response.

More Information

Webinar Type: Recorded

Speakers

Anthony B. Scialli, MD
Anthony B. Scialli, MD
Anthony B. Scialli, a teratologist and obstetrician-gynecologist, is an Adjunct Professor at Georgetown University School of Medicine.

Related Webinars