Wood Bioenergy for Rural Energy Resilience

owner image
Owner:
University of Kentucky College of Agriculture, Food, and Environment
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 | 1pm EDT (US and Canada) / August 22, 1am CST (China) / 6pm BST (UK) Long > 60 min | English

Webinar Details

Wood Bioenergy for Rural Energy Resilience: Identifying Sites with High Potential for a Successful Bioenergy Program

This webinar presents an integrative approach to wood industry waste, energy resilience, and economic development. Timber logging produces some waste wood (twigs, sawdust, etc.) Critical infrastructure sites (e.g. hospitals) need reliable power, but rural locations may be frequently cut off from central power plants. Rural areas need more employment.  And many institutions want to reduce fossil fuel use and carbon extraction.

Wood-to-energy plants could burn waste wood, reducing industrial waste, increasing rural economic activity, providing alternate energy supply to reduce interruptions, and replacing fossil fuel with renewable fuel.  The presentation includes site considerations, cost projections, and benefit modeling.  It concludes with a question-and-answer period.

More Information

Webinar Type: Recorded

Speakers

Chad F. Niman, B.S.
Chad F. Niman, B.S.
Chad Niman is a Primary Forest Products Specialist on the Department of Forestry Extension Team.
Kenton Sena, Ph.D.
Kenton Sena, Ph.D.
Kenton Sena is a Graduate Teaching Assistant in the University of Kentucky Department of Forestry.
Thomas O. Ochuodho, Ph.D.
Thomas O. Ochuodho, Ph.D.
Thomas Ochuodho is an Assistant Professor of Forest Economics and Policy at the University of Kentucky.

Related Webinars